In the News

Our Residents Take Top Honors at the 2017 WARC

May 7th, 2017

Our Residents Take Top Honors at the 2017 WARC
Click photo to enlarge Click photo to enlarge
Dr. Caitlin Sherman, Dr. Judi Turner, Dr. Soban Umar
and Dr. Marvin Chang

A strong contingent of our residents traveled to Portland for the Western Anesthesia Residents' Conference (WARC) on April 21-23, hosted by the Oregon Health & Science University's Department of Anesthesiology. Faculty members Judi Turner, MD, PhD, our residency program director, and Soban Umar, MD, PhD, served as moderators for poster sessions.

We are delighted to announce that three of our residents took top honors:

  • 1st Place Oral Presentation Award: Marvin Chang, MD, PhD, for "A Novel Paradigm for a New Class of Anti-Arrhythmic Drugs Based on Targeting Calcium-Channel Gating Properties". (Mentor: Riccardo Olcese, PhD)

  • 2nd Place Oral Presentation Award: Caitlin Sherman, MD, for "Investigating Bupivacaine-induced Cardiotoxicity and Intralipid Rescue in Pregnant Rats". (Mentor: Soban Umar, MD, PhD)

  • 2nd Place Poster Presentation Award: Vivek Chellappa, MD, for "Bilateral Lung Transplantation in a 34-Year-Old Female with Idiopathic Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension". (Mentors: Soban Umar MD, PhD, Reed Harvey, MD)

Residents attending the conference
pose with Dr. Soban Umar

The WARC judges also honored Drs. Delara Brandal and Maki Bernardo with their selection to deliver oral presentations. Poster presentations were given by Drs. Ankush Bansal, Chester Chan, Daniel Hwang, Jeffrey Jeng, Jarrod Larson, Kate Lee, Christina Nguyen, Kenji Ogura, Ajit Rai, Robert Shaw, Erik Tsou, Se Fum (Steve) Wong, and Nikki Yin. In total, our residents delivered four oral presentations and 16 poster presentations, demonstrating the range of innovative, high-quality research that they are actively pursuing within our department.

Congratulations to all the presenters and their mentors for their dedication and effort, which made these presentations possible! And many thanks to all our faculty and research staff who have consistently supported the residents throughout the year. The department is especially grateful to Emily Methangkool, MD, and Soban Umar, MD, PhD, for their diligent efforts in coordinating resident research projects.

Oral Presentation: Dr. Marvin Chang
Oral Presentation: Dr. Caitlin Sherman
Oral Presentation: Dr. Delara Brandal
Oral Presentation: Dr. Maki Bernardo
Poster Presentation: Dr. Vivek Chellappa
Poster Presentation: Dr. Jeffrey Jeng
Poster Presentation: Dr. Robert Shaw
Poster Presentation: Dr. Kenji Ogura
Poster Presentation: Dr. Chester Chan
Poster Presentation: Dr. Jarrod Larson
Poster Presentation: Dr. Christina Nguyen
Poster Presentation: Dr. Ajit Rai
Poster Presentation: Dr. Erik Tsou
Poster Presentation: Nikki Yin
Poster Presentation: Dr. Kate Lee
Poster Presentation: Daniel Hwang
Poster Presentation: Dr. Kenji Ogura
Poster Presentation: Dr. Ankush Bansal
Chief Residents
Poster Presentation: Dr. Jarrod Larson
Award Ceremony
Award Ceremony

Jessica Stolyarskaya

Read more news...

Print page